The first time I bought a Mac I was really confused by the “popping” sound OS X made whenever the system volume was increased/decreased. I soon got over it, but now don’t really care for the pop-pop-pop sound my Mac makes when I hit those volume adjustment keys. A little while ago, while I was exploring the Sound tab in OS X to write another article, I found an option to turn this sound off, and I really jumped at the chance.

I can now adjust my Mac’s volume to a blissful silence. This tip will come in really handy if you really dislike the “pop-pop-pop” sound when increasing/decreasing the volume (via keyboard shortcut).

There are two way’s to silence OS X’s volume popping sound:

  1. Open up “System Preferences” from the Apple Menu.

  2. Click on the “Sound” section.

  3. In the Sound window, uncheck the option for “Play feedback when volume is changed” under the Sound tab.

Doing so will silence the weird popping sound once and for all.

If you like the audio feedback the popping sound provides and want to silence the volume only on occasion, you can hold down the “Shift” key when hitting the volume-up or volume-down button. Doing so will provide a temporary relief from the popping sound.

These tips should be helpful in the case that you don’t like the popping sound that your Mac makes when the volume is adjusted.

Do you have any useful tips for us regarding adjusting the Mac’s volume? Be sure to tell us about them in the comments below.

Shujaa Imran is MakeTechEasier’s resident Mac tutorial writer. He’s currently training to follow his other passion become a commercial pilot. You can check his content out on Youtube

Our latest tutorials delivered straight to your inbox